Newcastle United vs. Chelsea, Premier League: Live blog; highlights – We Ain’t Got No History

In theory, Chelsea should have no problems in this game. Just last week, we beat the only team worse than Newcastle in the Premier League, 7-0. But a trip to St. James’ Park is never easy. It’s about mentality, it’s about focus, it’s about execution. Consistency is key.

Accordingly, Tuchel has selected a very strong lineup, though with Ziyech getting another start for some reason — presumably due to Mason Mount being forced to miss out at the last minute.

UPDATE: unspecified “illness” for Mason

Here we go!


Newcastle United starting lineup (5-3-2):

Darlow | Ritchie, Clark, Lascelles (c), Krafth, Manquillo | Fraser, Longstaff, Hayden | Wilson, Saint-Maximin

Substitutes from: Dúbravka, Schär, Joelinton, Shelvey, Lewis, Murphy, Almirón, Willock, Gayle

Chelsea starting lineup (3-4-3):

Mendy | Rüdiger, Silva, Christensen | Chilwell, Jorginho (c), Kanté, James | Hudson-Odoi, Havertz, Ziyech

Substitutes from: Arrizabalaga, Bettinelli, Alonso, Azpilicueta, Chalobah, Sarr, Barkley, Loftus-Cheek, Saúl


Date / Time: Saturday, October 30, 2021; 15.00 BST; 10am EDT; 7:30pm IST

Venue: St James’ Park, Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Referee: Paul Tierney (on pitch); David Coote (VAR)

On TV: none (UK); none (USA); Star Sports 3 (India); SuperSport Football (NGA); elsewhere

Streaming: none (UK); Peacock (USA); Hotstar (India); DStv Now (NGA)



Be excellent to each other, and party on, dudes!